Each state’s medical licensing board has its own set of requirements for medical professionals to maintain their state medical licenses; some states require allotted CME hours on specific topics. As new regulations are implemented to combat the ongoing opioid crisis, more state medical licensing boards are requiring pain management and safe opioid prescribing-related CME as part of their annual continuing education requirements. Find your state’s specific pain management and safe opioid prescribing-related CME needs in this guide.
In an effort to help medical professionals combat the ongoing opioid crisis in the US, BoardVitals is offering pain management and opioid CME activities to help you meet your state CME requirements. These online CME activities are designated for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Fulfill your state CME requirements all in one place in less than a day.
Got a CME Allowance?
Fulfill your CME requirements online with BoardVitals CME Online Activities by answering case-style questions, and correcting the answers as you go. Plus, with a CME Pro Plus Gift Card & Prepaid Card Bundle, you can build a custom CME plan and receive a complimentary Amazon gift card or Visa prepaid card for up to $3,500!
What are My State’s Pain Management and Opioid CME Credit Hour Requirements?
(As of January 16, 2021)
Check with your state’s medical board for the latest updates on pain management and opioid CME requirements.
Alabama – 2 Credits
The Alabama State Board of Medical Examiners requires 2 credit hours every 2 years on controlled substances for physicians.
Alaska – 2 Credits
The Alaska State Medical Board requires physicians to obtain 2 credit hours every 2 years on pain management, opioid use, and addiction.
Arizona – 3 Credit
For accreditation in Arizona, the Arizona Medical Board requires 3 credit hours of opioid training.
Arkansas – 1 Credit
Under Arkansas State Medical Board guidelines, practitioners must complete 1 credit hour in opioid training.
California – 12 credits
Under the Medical Board of California, providers must undergo 12 credit hours in pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients. This course must also include the subject of the risks of addiction associated with the use of Schedule II drugs.
No opioid CME requirements. Stay tuned, we’ll update this blog and our Opioid CME offerings as we get more information on new state requirements.
Connecticut – 1 credit
The Connecticut Medical Examining Board requires 1 credit hour of training in prescribing controlled substances and pain management.
Delaware – 3 Credits, 2 topics
The Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline requires physicians to undergo 2 credit hours in controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics relating to controlled substances. In addition, 1 credit hour on Delaware Law pertaining to the prescribing and distribution of controlled substances is required within the first year of registration.
Florida – 2 Credits every 2 years
Every 2 years, the Florida Board of Medicine requires 2 credit hours on the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substance medications for physicians registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration who are authorized to prescribe controlled substances.
Georgia – 3 Credits
The Georgia Composite Medical Board requires providers to obtain 3 credit hours in controlled substances prescribing practices.
No opioid CME requirements. Stay tuned, we’ll update this as we become aware of new requirements.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and check to see if we’ve added new requirements. We’ll add them as soon as we are made aware of new state requirements.
Illinois – 3 Credits
The Illinois Division of Professional Regulation – Medical Licensing Board requires 3 credit hours on safe opioid prescribing practices.
Indiana – 2 Credits
The Medical Licensing Board of Indiana mandates 2 credit hours of opioid prescribing and opioid abuse.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and check if new requirements have been added!
No opioid CME requirements. We’ll update this state when we’re made aware of new state requirements.
Kentucky – 4.5 Credits & 12 Credits
Kentucky physicians are required by the Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure to undergo 4.5 credit hours of Board approved training related to KASPER, pain management, or addiction disorders. DEA-licensed prescribers of Buprenorphine-Mono-Product or Buprenorphine-Combined-with-Naloxone are required to complete 12 credit hours specific to addiction medicine during each 3-year licensing period.
Louisiana – 3 Credits
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners requires prescribers to complete 3 credit hours of drug diversion training, best practices regarding prescribing of controlled substances, appropriate treatment for addiction, and any other matters pertaining to the prescribing of CDS that are deemed appropriate by the licensing board.
Maine – 3 Credits
The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine requires providers to complete 3 credit hours on the prescribing of opioid medication each renewal period.
The Maryland Board of Physicians requires new and renewal applicants to attest to the completion of 2 credit hours related to the Prescribing or Dispensing of Controlled Substances, when applying for a CDS registration.
Massachusetts – 3 Credits
The Board of Registration in Medicine requires licensees to undergo 3 credit hours in pain management.
Michigan – 3 Credits
The Michigan Board of Medicine requires licensees to undergo a minimum of 3 credit hours in pain and symptom management.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and see if new requirements have been added. We’ll update as soon as we hear.
Mississippi – 5 Credits
The Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure requires providers to undergo 5 credit hours related to prescribing of medications, with an emphasis on controlled substances.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and check! We’ll update this list when we hear of new requirements.
No opioid CME requirements. Check back with us- we’re constantly updating our content to reflect the word of state requirements.
No opioid CME requirements. As soon as we hear of new opioid requirements for Nebraska, we will update this list.
Nevada – 4 Credits
The Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners requires licensees to undergo 2 credit hours of training in ethics, pain management, and/or addiction care. In addition, you must earn 2 credit hours in misuse and abuse of controlled substances, the prescribing of opioids, or addiction.
New Hampshire – 3 Credits
The New Hampshire Board of Medicine requires providers to undergo 3 credit hours in opioid prescribing for the management or treatment of pain, or for the treatment of opioid use disorder.
New Jersey – 1 Credit
The New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners requires 1 credit hour related to responsible opioid prescribing, alternatives to opioids for managing pain, risk and signs of opioid abuse, addiction and diversion.
New Mexico – 5 Credits
Regulations by the New Mexico Medical Board mandate 5 credit hours in management of the treatment of pain.
New York – 3 Credits
The New York State Department of Health requires 3 credit hours in pain management, palliative care and addiction medicine.
North Carolina – 3 Credits
The North Carolina Medical Board mandates 3 credit hours in controlled substances.
No opioid CME requirements. Check back for updates.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back to see if we’ve updated this with new information.
The Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners requires 1 credit in prescribing controlled substances every other year.
Oregon – 6 Credits
The Oregon Medical Board requires providers to undergo 6 credit hours in pain management.
Pennsylvania – 2 Credits
The Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine requires 2 credit hours of pain management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids.
Rhode Island – 4 Credits
The Rhode Island Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline requires 4 credit hours relating to topics in Opioid pain management, chronic pain management, end of life or palliative care.
South Carolina – 2 Credits
The South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners requires 2 credit hours of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and check, we’ll update this list as soon as we hear about new state requirements regarding opioids.
Tennessee – 2 Credits
The Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners requires physicians to undergo 2 credit hours of prescribing controlled substances, which must include instruction in the Tennessee Chronic Pain Guidelines.
This 2 hours requirement is not necessary for doctors certified by the ABMS, AOA, or the American Board of Physician Specialties in one or more of the following specialties: pain management, anesthesiology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, neurology, and rheumatology.
Texas – None… yet.
No opioid CME requirements. Come back and check. We’ll update this list when we hear of new requirements.
Utah – 4 Credits
The Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensure requires controlled substance prescribers to undergo 4 credit hours of controlled substance training. 0.5 of these credit hours must be through an online tutorial/test provided by the Board, while the remaining 3.5 credit hours are AMA credits that meet board requirements.
Vermont – 1 Credit
The Vermont Board of Medical Practice requires 1 credit in hospice, palliative care, or pain management.
Beginning with license renewals due Nov. 2018, all physicians with a DEA number, pending application for a DEA number, or who dispense controlled substances will be required to show they have completed a total of at least 2 hours over the course of the previous 2-year licensing cycle of continuing education on the topic of prescribing controlled substances.
Virginia – 2 Credits
The Virginia Board of Medicine requires 2 hours in topics related to controlled substances.
Washington – 1 Credit
The Washington Medical Commission calls for physicians to undergo a 1 credit hour course in opioid prescribing.
West Virginia – 3 Credits
The West Virginia Board of Medicine requires physicians to receive 3 credit hours in a board-approved course on both drug diversion and best practice prescribing of controlled substances.
Wisconsin – 2 Credits
The Wisconsin Medical Examining Board requires a 2 credit hours board-approved course in responsible opioid prescription.
No opioid CME requirements. Check back to see if we’ve updated this state. We’ll be updating this list as soon as we hear of new state requirements regarding Opioid CME.
Not sure which CME course is right for you? Use our CME Coach activity finder to find the online course that best fits your needs and will help you meet your state’s pain management and opioid CME requirements.
If you have a CME allowance from your employer, check out BoardVitals CME Pro Plus to earn up to 100 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, plus get an Amazon gift card or Visa prepaid card for up to $3,500.
If you’re not looking to fulfill your state’s opioid CME requirements but are studying for the ABPM Addiction Medicine board exam, the BoardVitals Addiction Medicine board exam questions are an excellent way to help you prepare.