Each state’s medical licensing board has its own set of licensure requirements for continued accreditations so that medical professionals remain in CME compliance. To follow is our roundup of required CME credit hours and licensure periods.
Updated as of August 25, 2015. Check the medical board for your state for the latest updates on CME credits.
For MD/DO accreditation in Alabama, 25 CME credits are required per one year term. AMA PRA category 1 requires 25 credits per one year term. The Alabama State Board of Medical Examiners does not allow the rollover of credits.
Set forth by the Alaska State Medical Board, Alaskan MD/DO accreditation requires 50 CME credits and 50 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two years.
MD: The Arizona Medical Board requires 40 hours of MD CME over a two year licensure period.
DO: The Arizona Board of Osteopathic Examiners in Medicine and Surgery specifies that not more than eight hours of annual credits be obtained by completing CME requirements in AMA PRA Category 1 approved by an ACCME-accredited CME provider.
The DO AOA 1-A requirements in Arizona is 24 CME credits and the DO CME requirement is 40 hours. Both should be completed during the two-year licensure term.
The Arkansas State Medical Board requires 20 hours of CME annually with 50% of the AMA PRA Category 1 credits targeting the main area of practice.
MD: The Medical Board of California requires 50 CME hours in MD AMA PRA 1 and 50 MD CME hours every two years.
The one-time requirement of 12 CME credits in pain management and treatment of terminally ill and dying patients must be finished before the second license renewal date or within four years, whichever occurs first. Taking a course in geriatric medicine is encouraged.
DO: The Osteopathic Medical Board of California requires 150 hours of DO CME every three years. During this time, 60 credits must be AOA 1-A or AOA 1-B. The AOA certificate is accepted when supplemented with the AOA activity registration.
Colorado Physicians are not required by the Colorado Medical Board to obtain continuing education. One hundred hours of CME are required every two years, however, for Physician Assistants, requires 25 hours of Category 1 CME in the last twelve months. Renewal of licenses is required every two years.
The Connecticut Medical Examining Board requires 50 CME hours every two years with one credit in each of the following categories every two year licensure period: cultural competency, domestic violence, infectious disease (which includes, but is not limited to, AIDS and HIV), risk management, sexual assault, and behavioral health.
The Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline requires 40 AMA PRA 1 credits and 40 CME within a two year licensure period.
MD: Every two years, the Florida Board of Medicine requires 40 CME credits and 40 CME credits in MD AMA PRA 1 which should include the following concentrations within that timeframe: one-time requirement upon first renewal for one hour in HIV/AIDS and two hours in medical errors prevention. Two hours of medical errors prevention and two hours in domestic violence is required every subsequent renewal.
DO: The Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine requires 20 hours in DO AOA 1-A, 40 hours in DO CME, one hour in DO controlled substances, two hours in DO domestic violence, two hours in DO error prevention, one hour in DO laws and one hour in DO professional and medical ethics. Each should be completed every two years.
Upon first renewal, requirements include one hour in HIV/AIDS, professional and medical ethics, Florida laws and rules, and controlled substances, as well as, two hours of domestic violence and medical errors prevention. At least 20 of the remaining hours must be 1-A credits.
Upon second and subsequent renewals, one hour each must be completed in professional and medical ethics, Florida laws and rules, and controlled substances. Two hours each must be completed in domestic violence and prevention of medical errors. Every third renewal requires two hours of credits in domestic violence.
For each license renewal, at least 20 of the remaining hours must be 1-A credits. The remaining hours can be obtained from either AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA Category 1-A. Complete mandatory live, participatory attendance courses to receive CME for professional and medical ethics, Florida laws and rules, controlled substances, and prevention of medical errors.
The Georgia Composite Medical Board requires 40 MD/DO CME Credits and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two years.
Every two years, the Hawaii Medical Board requires 40 CME credits and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits.
The Idaho State Board of Medicine requires 40 CME and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two year licensure period.
The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation requires 150 CME credits and 60 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every three years. SMS, NSS if ACCME accredited.
Indiana physicians have no continuing education requirements from the Medical Licensing Board of Indiana. Licenses must be renewed every two years on October 31st of odd-numbered years such as 2015, 2017 etc.
Every two year licensure period, the Iowa Board of Medicine requires 40 CME and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits. Training for identifying and reporting child and dependent adult abuse must be acquired every five years, as well as, two CME hours each in chronic pain management and in end-of-life care.
Kansas Board of Healing Arts annually requires 20 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 and 50 hours of CME credits. The requirements may be completed as follows: 50 credits in 18 months (20 credits in Category 1), or 100 credits in 30 months (30 credits in Category 1) or 150 credits in 42 months (60 credits in Category 1).
The Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure requires 30 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 and 60 hours of CME credits every three years. There is a mandatory one-time requirement for primary care physicians to complete a domestic violence course. Two credits in a Kentucky approved HIV/AIDS course must be obtained every 10 years.
The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners requires 20 CME credits and 20 AMA PRA Category 1 credits annually. A one-time board orientation course is required as well.
The Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine requires 40 MD AMA PRA 1 and 100 CME credits every two years. The Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure http://www.maine.gov/osteo/ requires 100 DO CME credits every two years as well.
Specialists may obtain other than AOA Category 1 credits.
The Maryland Board of Physicians requires 50 hours each for CME and AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two years. Partial CME credit is given for ABMS certification.
The Board of Registration in Medicine requires 100 CME and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 (AOA 1-A) credits every two years. Ten credits must be acquired in risk management, and four of those credits must be Category 1. Two of those four credits must be in the study of the Board’s regulations. Three hours will be required in the use of electronic health records beginning January 1, 2015.
A minimum of two credits is required of either Category 1 or Category 2 end-of-life care issues. Ten credits must be applied to risk management in which a minimum of four should be in Category 1.
Renewing licensees who prescribe controlled substances are required to obtain three credits in pain management training.
The Michigan Board of Medicine requires 75 MD AMA PRA Category 1 and 150 CME credits every three years. The Michigan Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery requires 150 DO CME credits every three years, of which, 60 hours of AOA 1-A or 1-B credits are required.
The Minnesota Board of Medical Practice requires 75 CME credits and 75 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every three years. An ABMS certification or MOC is accepted.
Every two years, the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure requires 40 CME and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits. Upon initial certification, DO credits must be AOA 1-A.
The Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts requires 50 hours of CME and 50 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 to be completed every two years.
Required topics include: AOA 1-A or AAFP or if activity includes post-test or specialty board certification or recertification or ACGME or AOA approved internship/residency, 40 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 or AOA 1-A will be required.
The period to complete these requirements begins with the 24-month cycle starting on January 1 of even-numbered years and ending December 31 of odd-numbered years.
The Montana Board of Medical Examiners does not require continuing physician education.
The Nebraska Board of Medicine and Surgery requires 50 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 and 50 hours of CME credits every two years.
The Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners requires 40 hours each of MD AMA PRA 1 and MD CME credits, as well as two hours of MD ethics every two years. You may choose to complete two hours in medical ethics or to substitute with pain management and/or addiction care CME for this requirement.
The Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine annually requires 10 hours of DO AOA 1-A and 35 hours of DO CME.
Credit for courses is reported to the New Hampshire Medical Society. The New Hampshire State Board of Medicine requires 100 CME credits and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two years.
Every two years, the New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners requires 100 CME credits and 40 AMA PRA Category 1 credits, as well, as two End-of-Life Care credits. A one-time requirement of six credits for cultural competence is to be completed in addition to the 100 hour requirement for physicians licensed before March 24, 2005. These credits may be included if licensed after this date. The Board requires newly licensed physicians to attend an orientation program, of which, no CME is given.
Every three years, The New Mexico Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners requires 75 DO CME and 75 AMA PRA Category 1 credits. An active membership in the AOA may replace 75 CME credits. The New Mexico Medical Board also requires 75 MD CME, 75 AMA PRA Category 1 and five pain management credits every three years.
The New York State Board for Medicine requires one CME and three infection control credit every four licensure years. Chiropractors, Dental Hygienists, Dentists, Optometrists, Physicians, Podiatrists, Psychologists, and Registered Nurses are required to take a one-time two hour course in child abuse and maltreatment.
Every three years, the North Carolina Medical Board requires 150 CME and 60 AMA PRA Category 1 credits. Physicians must be practice-relevant. An ongoing ABMS certificate, MOC or AOA OCC is accepted in place of CME credits.
The North Dakota State Board of Medical Examiners requires 60 credits each of CME and AMA PRA Category 1 every three years.
The State Medical Board of Ohio requires 40 MD/DO AMA PRA Category 1 and 100 CME credits every two years. CME credits must be OSMA/OOA certified. Any physician operating a pain management clinic must complete at least 20 hours of Category 1 CME in pain medicine every two years. Forty hours of AOA 1-A or 1-B is required For Dos.
The Oklahoma State Board of Medical Licensure and Supervision requires 60 credits each in MD CME and AMA PRA Category 1 every three years which includes 50 hours for each year of GME.
The Oklahoma State Board of Osteopathic Examiners annually requires 16 DO CME and 16 AMA PRA Category 1 (AOA 1-A or AOA 1-B). One credit is required in prescribing controlled substances every two years.
The Oregon Medical Board requires 60 credits each to be completed every two years in MD/DO CME and AMA PRA Category 1. Six credits of pain management or end-of-life care must be completed within 12 months of receiving the initial license. An additional one hour pain management provided by the pain management commission of DHS is required. Licensees in residency training and those serving in the military (and deployed outside Oregon for 90 days or longer) are exempt from the CME requirements.
The Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine requires 20 MD AMA PRA Category 1, 100 MD CME, 12 MD Patient Safety and 12 MD Risk Management every two years. The Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine requires 20 DO AOA 1-A, 100 DO CME, 12 DO Patient Safety and 12 DO Risk Management every two years.
Please be aware that two CME hours in Child Abuse will be required for physicians renewing their license beginning January 1, 2015. Initial applications will require three CME hours in Child Abuse.
The Rhode Island Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline requires 40 MD/DO credits each in CME and AMA PRA Category 1 very two years. Required topics include two credits in universal precautions, bioterrorism, end-of-life, OSHA, ethics, pain management/chronic pain management, infection control, modes of transmission, or palliative care.
Every two years, the South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners requires 40 MD/DO CME and AMA PRA Category 1 credit hours each. The board also requires topics that cover 75% specialty education covered by 30 credits every two years.
The South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners do not require physicians to continue their education. Physician Assistants, however, are required to complete 30 hours annually. Providing proof of current certification from the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants by any physician assistant can be used as compliant documentation for this requirement.
The Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners requires 40 hours each of MD AMA PRA Category 1 and MD CME credits along with one credit in prescribing controlled substances every two years. Specialized CME in pain management is required for providers of intractable pain management.
The Tennessee Board of Osteopathic Examination requires 40 credits of DO CME and one hour of DO Controlled Substances every two years. Twenty-four hours of AOA 1-A or AOA 2-A credit is also required.
The Texas Medical Board requires 48 CME, 12 AMA PRA Category 1 and two Ethics credits every two years. Of 24 Category 1 credits, a minimum of two credits must be in ethics and/or professional responsibility. Professional responsibility includes, but is not limited to, courses in risk management, domestic abuse, or child abuse. Those who practice in pain management clinics must annually acquire 10 pain management credits. DOs must obtain an AOA 1-A.
The Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensure requires 40 MD CME credits, 34 MD AMA PRA Category 1 credits, 34 DO AMA PRA Category 1 and 40 DO CME credits every two years. At least 34 credits need to be in the Category 1 offerings established by the ACCME. Six hours are allowed from the Division of Occupational and Professional License.
Every two years, the Vermont Board of Medical Practice requires 30 credits each in MD AMA PRA Category 1 and MD CME. One hour hospice, palliative care and/or pain management is also required. Any licensee who has applied for a DEA number will be required to have an hour of safe prescription of controlled substances.
The Vermont Board of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons requires 30 hours in DO CME every two years with a minimum of 12 of the 30 credits applied to osteopathic medical education.
The Virginia Board of Medicine requires 60 CME and 30 AMA PRA Category 1 credits every two years.
Every three years, the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery requires 60 credits in DO AMA PRA Category 1 and 150 credits in DO CME. An accepted equivalent is a current certification of CME from medical practice academies and original certification or recertification within six years by a specialty board.
Every four years, the Washington State Medical Quality Assurance Commission requires 120 MD AMA PRA Category 1 and 200 MD CME credits. The board is classified into five CME categories. A re-licensure candidate may earn all 200 hours that are required every four years in Category 1. A maximum of 80 hours may be earned in any of the other four categories.
The West Virginia Board of Medicine requires 50 credits each in MD AMA PRA Category 1 and MD CME every two years. Thirty credits related to the physician’s designed specialty must be acquired. A minimum of three hours of CME is required in prescribing controlled substances and drug diversion only for physicians who prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances.
The West Virginia Board of Osteopathy requires 32 credits every two year licensure period in DO CME. Sixteen AOA 1-A or AOA 1-B credits are required. There is also a one-time requirement for two credits in end-of-life care, as well as, three CME credits in Board-approved pain management prescribing and drug diversion during each renewal cycle.
The State of Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services requires 30 credits in AMA PRA Category 1 and 30 credits in CME every two years.
Every three years, the Wyoming Board of Medicine requires 60 credits each in AMA PRA Category 1 and CME.
BoardVitals offers an easy way to complete all of your CME (Continuing Medical Education) requirements for 2015. All credits are Category 1 CME. A single purchase enables you to complete your annual CME requirements in less than a day. To learn more, click here.