Anesthesiology & Florida CME Requirements

  • American Board of Anesthesiology

      • At a Glance

      • Complete 30 MOCA Minute questions per calendar quarter
      • By the end of year 5

        • Complete 25 IMP (Improvement in Medical Practice) points
      • By the end of year 10

        • 250 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits
        • 20 Patient Safety CME Hours
        • Complete an Additional 25 IMP (Improvement in Medical Practice) Points

      The American Board of Anesthesiology requires 250 AMA PRA Category 1 hours every 10 years. Self Assessment CMEs are no longer required. 20 of the mandated 250 Category 1 CME must be ABA-approved Patient Safety CMEs. Importantly, no more than 70 credits per calendar year will be applied to the 250 hour requirement.

      Also, as of 2016, the MOCA Minute will be offered instead of the 10 year examination. The new requirement includes successfully completing 30 questions per calendar quarter. Learners must also complete 25 Points in Years 1-5 and 25 Points in Years 6-10.

      Source

  • Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MDs)

      • At a Glance

        40 total hours every 2 years

      • 40 AMA Approved Credits
      • 2 Medical Error
      • 2 Domestic Violence (Every 3rd Cycle)

      The Florida Board of Medicine requires 40 AMA CME credits every 2 years.
      Of these 40 hours, 2 hours must be on the topic of Medical Error (must include information regarding the 5 most mis-diagnosed conditions, in accordance with Rule 64B8-13.005, F.A.C.).
      In every third renewal cycle, 2 credits must be on the topic of Domestic Violence.
      Physicians renewing their license for the first time are exempt from the general Florida CME requirements and instead are required to complete 2 hours of Preventing Medical Errors and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS.

      Source

  • Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance (DOs)

      • At a Glance

        40 total hours every 2 years

      • 20 AOA Category 1-A Credits
      • 15 AOA or AMA Approved Hours
      • 5 Live Hours (See License Description)
      • On every third renewal cycle, 2 hours on Domestic Violence.

      The Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine requires 40 CME hours over a 2 year licensure period. Of these 40 hours, 20 must be AOA Category 1-A, 15 must be either AOA or AMA approved hours, and 5 live hours broken down as follows: 2 hours in Medical Errors, 1 hour in Professional and Medical Ethics, 1 hour in Florida Laws and Rules, and 1 hour of Federal & State Laws Related to the Prescribing of Controlled Substances.
      In every third renewal cycle, 2 hours must be on the topic of Domestic Violence.
      Additional requirements for first time renewal include 1 hours of HIV/AIDS.
      Physicians licensed after July 1st of the of the second year of the renewal cycle are only required to complete hours for HIV/AIDS, Florida Laws and Rules, Professional & Medical Ethics, Federal & State Laws Related to the Prescribing of Controlled Substances and Prevention of Medical Errors

      Source

Resources

Continuing Education requirements change often. We monitor the boards regularly to stay current, but if any information appears out of date, contact us and let us know.