Dermatology & West Virginia CME Requirements
American Board of Dermatology ⇱
At a Glance
25 total hours every 1 years
The American Board of Dermatology requires a minimum of 25 CME Category 1 credits every year. Of these credits, at least half must be on the subjects of the physician's practice (typically Dermatology, but other specialties are acceptable if directly related to the practice). The American Board of Medical Specialties strongly recommends that 1/3 of each year’s CME credits (e.g., > 8 credits per year) involve CME exercises that are also self-assessment activities. Once throughout each MOC cycle the physician must complete a Personal Improvement activity. For those in their first MOC cycle, a foundational Patient Safety course is required instead. 100 self assessment credits are required by the ends of years 3, 6, and 10, for a total of 300 self assessment credits. CME self-assessment credits count towards this requirement. THE AMERICAN BOARD OF DERMATOLOGY IS CREATING A TWO-YEAR PILOT PERIOD, BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2016, FOR DEVELOPMENT OF FOCUSED ACTIVITIES TARGETING PRACTICE IMPROVEMENT. Until 2018, no learner will risk losing certification for not completing practice improvement activities. The MOC exam requires the diplomate to take and pass a general dermatology module. Diplomates must also take a module from one of the following choices: dermatology, dermatopathology, surgical dermatology, and pediatric dermatology.Source
West Virginia Board of Osteopathy ⇱
At a Glance
32 total hours every 2 years
The West Virginia Board of Osteopathy requires 32 CME hours every two years. Of these hours, 16 must be either AOA-approved Category 1-A or 1-B. Additionally, licensees are required to complete drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training. For licensees that prescribes, administers or dispenses controlled substances, 3 of the 32 hours must be earned through a board-approved course.Source
West Virginia Board of Medicine ⇱
At a Glance
50 total hours every 2 years
The West Virginia Board of Medicine requires 50 Category 1 CME hours every two years. Of these hours, a minimum of 30 must relate to the physician's specialty, and a minimum of 3 hours in board approved hours on the subject of best practices prescribing of controlled substances and drug diversion training. Physicians may count up to 20 hours of medical student teaching/preceptorship in the 50-hour total.Source
In this online self-assessment activity, you'll test your knowledge with more than 1000 Dermatology case-style review questions and earn CME credits as you go. Review your responses with detailed, evidence-based rationales with references.
In this online self-assessment activity, you'll test your knowledge with more than 1500 Internal Medicine case-style review questions and earn CME credits as you go. Review your responses with detailed, evidence-based rationales with references and earn up to 40 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ and up to 40 ABIM MOC points to meet your career requirements.