Dermatology & Florida CME Requirements

  • American Board of Dermatology

      • At a Glance

      • Annual MOC Fees
      • Annual 25 Category 1 CME Hours (half must be on subject of physician's practice)
      • By the end of year 3

        • 100 Self Assessment Credits
      • By the end of year 5

        • 1 Quality Improvement Activity
      • By the end of year 6

        • 100 Self Assessment Credits
      • By the end of year 10

        • 1 Performance Improvement Activity (during first MOC cycle, must be a foundational patient safety course)
        • 100 Self Assessment Credits
        • 1 Quality Improvement Activity
        • Pass the MOC Exam

      The American Board of Dermatology requires a minimum of 25 CME Category 1 credits every year.
      Of these credits, at least half must be on the subjects of the physician's practice (typically Dermatology, but other specialties are acceptable if directly related to the practice).
      The American Board of Medical Specialties strongly recommends that 1/3 of each year’s CME credits (e.g., > 8 credits per year) involve CME exercises that are also self-assessment activities.
      Once throughout each MOC cycle the physician must complete a Personal Improvement activity. For those in their first MOC cycle, a foundational Patient Safety course is required instead.
      100 self assessment credits are required by the ends of years 3, 6, and 10, for a total of 300 self assessment credits. CME self-assessment credits count towards this requirement.

      THE AMERICAN BOARD OF DERMATOLOGY IS CREATING A TWO-YEAR PILOT PERIOD, BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2016, FOR DEVELOPMENT OF FOCUSED ACTIVITIES TARGETING PRACTICE IMPROVEMENT. Until 2018, no learner will risk losing certification for not completing practice improvement activities.

      The MOC exam requires the diplomate to take and pass a general dermatology module. Diplomates must also take a module from one of the following choices: dermatology, dermatopathology, surgical dermatology, and pediatric dermatology.

      Source

  • Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MDs)

      • At a Glance

        40 total hours every 2 years

      • 38 General AMA Approved Credits.
      • 2 Medical Error (must include information regarding the 5 most mis-diagnosed conditions, in accordance with Rule 64B8-13.005, F.A.C.).
      • 2 Domestic Violence (Every 3rd Renewal Period).
      • 2 Controlled Substance Prescribing Course (DEA Registrants Only)

      The Florida Board of Medicine requires 40 AMA CME credits every 2 years. Of these 40 hours, 2 hours must be on the topic of Medical Error (must include information regarding the 5 most mis-diagnosed conditions, in accordance with Rule 64B8-13.005, F.A.C.). In every third renewal cycle, 2 credits must be on the topic of Domestic Violence. Physicians renewing their license for the first time are exempt from the general Florida CME requirements and instead are required to complete 2 hours of Preventing Medical Errors and 1 hour of HIV/AIDS. DEA registrants are also required to complete 2 hours of a Controlled Substance Prescribing Course.

      Source

  • Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance (DOs)

      • At a Glance

        40 total hours every 2 years

      • 3 Live Hours (See License Description).
      • 20 AOA Category 1-A Credits.
      • 15 AOA or AMA Approved Hours.
      • On every third renewal cycle, 2 hours on Domestic Violence.
      • First-time renewers must also complete (1) hour of HIV/AIDS.

      The Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine requires 40 CME hours over a 2 year licensure period. 20 of these credits must be AOA Category 1-A credits. 15 of these credits can be either AOA or AMA credits (of which; only 8 of these may be home study). Additionally, live credits are required and must consist of (2) Prevention of Medical Errors, and (1) Florida Laws and Rules/Professional and Medical Ethics. Also required is (2) hours on Prescribing Controlled Substances (This requirement applies only to licensees registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe controlled substances). These hours are not required to be live/participatory.

      Additionally, for every third renewal period, the licensee must complete an additional (2) hours of Domestic Violence.

      Lastly, first-time renewers must also complete (1) hour of HIV/AIDS.

      NOTE- Osteopathic Physicians licensed after July 1 of the second year of the biennium (odd year), are only required to complete the HIV/AIDS, Florida Laws and Rules, Professional & Medical Ethics, Federal & State Laws Related to the Prescribing of Controlled Substances and Prevention of Medical Errors courses.

      Source

Continuing Education requirements change often. We monitor the boards regularly to stay current, but if any information appears out of date, contact us and let us know.