North Carolina CME Requirements

  • North Carolina Medical Board

      • At a Glance

        60 total hours every 3 years

      • 60 Category 1 Credits in Area of Practice

      The North Carolina Medical Board requires 60 Category 1 CME credits in topics relevant to their area of practice.
      This requirement can alternatively be fulfilled by obtaining initial certification from an ABMS, AOA or RCPSC specialty board, or by being currently enrolled in an AOA or ACGME accredited graduate medical education program.


Continuing Education requirements change often. We monitor the boards regularly to stay current, but if any information appears out of date, contact us and let us know.